you're reading...
Audio, Multimedia, Scripture, Veda

ṛg veda


The g veda is the oldest veda of all four and contains hymns for divine Gods. The main deities of g veda are agni, indra and soma. Although there are various deities worshipped within the g veda it is important to mention that the sages acknowledged that each deity is just another personification of one divine truth[1]. The word ‘g’ is derived from the sanskrit word k which means ‘to praise’. The mantras of the g veda are chanted by priests who are known as Hotri’s.

The sahitā section of the gveda is divided into 10 sections named mandalas. Each mandalas has various hymns which are known as sūktas. Each sūkta is then further divided into mantras which are known as ks. In total there are estimated to be 1028 sūktas made up of10,170 ks.

[1] gveda –  ekaṁ sadviprā bahudhā vadanti 1.164.46 The copyright of the article ṛg veda is owned by the Jigyasa Team. Permission to republish in print or online must be granted by the author in writing.

About Makwana

A student of Sanatan Vedic Dharma



  1. Pingback: sāma veda « jigyāsā - December 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Blog Stats

  • 274,995 hits
%d bloggers like this: