you're reading...
Scripture, Veda

Śruti – The divine revelations

Śruti, the divine revelations were revealed in deep meditation to seven ancient seers known accumulatively as the sapta ṛṣīs. Initially these realisations were not systematically recorded but rather passed down orally through a disciplic succession. It was then formulated that the collective revelation would be referred to as Veda. The term veda is derived from the root Sanskrit word ‘vid’ meaning knowledge.

However in later times the text was organised and elaborated by Sage bādarāyaa into four divisions (g, sāma, yajur, atharva [1] ) which then led to the Sage being named veda vyāsa meaning the organiser of the Veda [2]. Each veda in turn again is subdivided into four.

[1] Of this world I am the father, mother, nourisher, (and the) grand-father; I myself am the knowable, the sanctifier, the syllable Om, Rig, Sama, Yajur and Atharva. Bhagavad Gita 9.17

[2] bhāgavata purāṇa 1.4.19, viṣṇu purāṇa 3.4.3

The copyright of the article Śruti – The divine revelations is owned by the Jigyasa Team. Permission to republish in print or online must be granted by the author in writing.


About Makwana

A student of Sanatan Vedic Dharma



  1. Pingback: āraṇyaka – The forest treatise « jigyāsā - January 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Blog Stats

  • 276,615 hits
%d bloggers like this: