//
you're reading...
General

Silence her voice / Voice her silence

This is a beautiful and poetic piece of literature written by Anay Bathia. I would like to thank Anayji in authoring this profound work and allowing the Jigyasa Team to share it on the blog.

SILENCE HER VOICE

After 5000 years, Indian Culture has lost her voice.
The people I meet, the work I see and the spirit of those around me have made it absurd to suggest that the possibility of “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam[1]” – through divine, unconditional love – still exists.

As difficult as it may be to acknowledge, it is a modern-day truth that selfish motives and materialistic desires fuel the thoughts and actions of a growing minority of trendsetters. They have readily sacrificed moral and spiritual codes – in particular, the Bhagavad-Gita’s sacred echo of “sarvasya cāhaṁ hṛdi sanniviṣṭo[2].”

Who will dare utter, amidst such adversity, the forgotten promise “kariṣye vacanaṁ tava[3]”?
Who will exhibit the faith to fight internal battles with integrity and courage?

My relationship with God is dead. I am like Arjuna on the battlefield;

I believe fear and temptation are stronger than me and accept the notion that Kalyuga is an inevitable state of Man. The education I have received does not allow me to whole-heartedly embrace the world’s innate divinity. I thus refuse to insult my intelligence by subscribing to the ancient philosophies of Vedic scriptures. These prove to be far inferior in logic and power against the Western ways of life.

The voice of my environment is much greater than the voice of my Mother Culture. This means I will continue to listen to the louder voice in my head – I am not able to go against the tide. Being free from the ignorance of anyone who thinks otherwise, I, as a member of this deteriorated society, reject the proposition that there is still hope.

But this is a defeatist attitude! It needs to be reversed. So, LET’S REVERSE…………………

VOICE HER SILENCE

There is still hope.

I, as a member of this deteriorated society, reject the proposition that I am not able to go against the tide. Being free from the ignorance of anyone who thinks otherwise means I will continue to listen to the louder voice in my head – The voice of my Mother Culture. This is much greater than the voice of my environment.

The Western ways of life prove to be far inferior in logic and power against the ancient philosophies of Vedic scriptures. These whole-heartedly embrace the world’s innate divinity. I thus refuse to insult my intelligence by subscribing to the notion that Kalyuga is an inevitable state of Man. The education I have received does not allow me to believe fear and temptation are stronger than me and accept my relationship with God is dead.

I am like Arjuna on the battlefield; I, who will exhibit the faith to fight internal battles with integrity and courage;
who will dare utter, amidst such adversity, the forgotten promise “kariṣye vacanaṁ tava[3]”.

Moral and spiritual codes – in particular, the Bhagavad-Gita’s sacred echo of “sarvasya cāhaṁ hṛdi sanniviṣṭo[2]” – fuel the thoughts and actions of a growing minority of trendsetters. They have readily sacrificed selfish motives and materialistic desires.

As difficult as it may be to acknowledge, it is a modern-day truth that the possibility of “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam[1]” – through divine, unconditional love – still exists.

The people I meet, the work I see and the spirit of those around me have made it absurd to suggest that after 5000 years, Indian Culture has lost her voice.


[1] The world is one family
[2] bhagavad gītā 15.15 – I am seated in the hearts of all
[3] bhagavad gītā 18.73 – I will act according to Thy word

The copyright of the article Silence her voice / Voice her silence is owned by Mr. Anay Bathia. Permission to republish in print or online must be granted by the author in writing.

About Makwana

A student of Sanatan Vedic Dharma

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Facebook

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 218,000 hits
