you're reading...

Sapta ciranjīvi – The seven immortals

During the crash course, a conversation ensued regarding the immortals in Vedic scriptures, though we concluded there were seven in number and had a few ideas regarding who they could be, courtesy of Jatin Bhatt, we now know who the seven are, through a verse founded in tradition.

अश्वत्थामा बलिर्व्यासो हनुमांश्च विभीषणः।
कृपाः पर्शुरामश्च सप्तैते चिरजीवनः॥

aśvatthāmā balirvyāso hanumāṁśca vibhīṣaṇaḥ |
kṛpāḥ parśurāmaśca saptaite cirajīvanaḥ ||

The seven immortals are aśvatthāmā, bali, vyāsa, hanumāna, vibhīṣaṇa, kṛpā and parśurāma.


According to the Srimad Bhagavatam aśvatthāmā, vyāsa, kṛpā and parśurāma will be amongst the seven sages of the following Manvatara (SB 8.13.15-16), Bali will be the next Indra (SB 8.13.12), hanumāna is the incarnation of Lord śiva, who requested to stay on earth to listen to the Lords holy name and finally vibhīṣaṇa who was blessed by Lord Rama, to remain on earth for one Kalpa.

What is also interesting to note is that excluding King bali, parśurāma, hanumāna and vibhīṣaṇa were present during the manifesation of Visnu as Lord Rama and vyāsa, kṛpā and aśvatthāmā were present during the incarnation of Sri Krsna.

ashvatthAmA balirvyAso hanumAMshcha vibhIshhaNaH .
kR^ipAH parshurAmashcha saptaite chirajIvanaH ..


About Makwana

A student of Sanatan Vedic Dharma


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Blog Stats

  • 267,225 hits
%d bloggers like this: